Call 314-516-4990

VIV 203


The Seven Faces of Fernando for Solo Harpsichord
By Robert Starer

This set of short pieces was written for Fernando Valenti who premiered them in 1969. Robert Starer, considering these pieces to be exclusively Valentiís, decided only recently to allow their publication. Each title reflects a different mood of Valentiís: I. Ponderously, II. Innocently, III. Casually, Perhaps Immorally, IV. Persistently, V. Verily Gushingly, VI. Erratically, With Ill-Disguised Decadence, and VII. Impetuously.
VIV 203, 24 pages, $13.95


Click here to view a page of the score.


A Brief Bio of the Composer

Robert Starer was born in Vienna (1924-2001) and received his musical education at the State Academy in Vienna, the Jerusalem Conservatoire and the Juilliard School. He became an American citizen in 1957. He has taught at Juilliard and at the Graduate Center of C.U.N.Y. where he was named Distinguished Professor in 1986.

His symphonic works have been performed by Mitropoulos, Bernstein, Ozawa, Mehta and others. Interpreters of his music include Itzhak Perlman, Janos Starker, Leontyne Price, and Roberta Peters. Excerpts from his book Continuo, A Life in Music, have appeared in the New Yorker, Musical America and the London Times.

He was a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters.


Return to the
Home Page

To order send e-mail to Vivace Press