Call 314-516-4990

VIV 348


Six Versets on Hildegard Chants for Solo Organ
By Philip Jones

Hildegard von Bingen was one of Medieval music’s greatest composers. These short pieces are built on themes from one of her best known chants. These are evocative and atmospheric works arranged for solo organ by Philip Jones. Included are “O praise a branch of great greenness,” “For in you was growing a fair flower,” “Therefore the skies dropped gentle dew on rolling meadows,” as well as three other settings.
VIV 348, 24 pages, $14.95


Click here to view a page of the score.


A Brief Bio of the Composer

Philip Jones was born in Preston, Lancashire in England in 1949. His early studies were with the celebrated blind organist John E. Robinson. He graduated from the Royal Manchester College of Music, and he gained the FRCO certificate at the age of twenty one. This was followed by almost twenty years of work as a high school music teacher, organist, choral conductor and composer.

In 1989, he emigrated to America and married Jill Wiley, an American Methodist minister. They lived in Texas and California before returning to England in 1992.

Now residing in the Midlands, Mr. Jones is active as a composer, organist and private teacher; his wife serves two churches in Leicester.

His compositions include an orchestral suite, performed by the Preston Youth Orchestra, music for brass ensemble, organ and choral music, including the cantata "Praying and Weaving" and "Prayers of Dag Hammarskjold." Two of his hymn tunes appear in the current British Methodist Hymnal. A love of the guitar has led to the recent composition and publication of several works for solo guitar and guitar duet.



Return to the
Home Page

To order send e-mail to Vivace Press