Call 314-516-4990

VIV 6503


Four Rhapsodies for Solo Piano ē Music by African-American Women Series
By Lettie Beckon Alston

These compelling rhapsodies each address a specific issue of technique. This Michigan-based composer explores exciting rhythms and a profusion of colors and tempos.
VIV 6503, 24 pages, $13.95


Click here to view a page of the score.

A Brief Bio of the Composer

Lettie Beckon Alston is Associate Professor of Music at Oakland University. Born in Detroit, Michigan on April 13, 1953, she now resides in Lathrup Village, Michigan. She received her bachelorís and masterís degrees in Music Composition from Wayne State University. She was the first African American composer to obtain a Doctor of Musical Arts degree from the University of Michigan, where she studied with Leslie Bassett, William Bolcom, Eugene Kurtz, and George Wilson.

Alston has taught at the Detroit Public School, Wayne State University, Eastern Michigan University, and Oakland University. She has received commissions from the Oakland University Community Chorus, the Great Lakes Menís Chorus, the Lyric Chamber Ensemble, and others. Her work has been performed by the Pontiac-Oakland and Warren Symphonies, and in the finalist competition of the Detroit Symphony Orchestraís Unisys African American Composers Forum. She is a recipient of the Music Study Club of Metropolitan Detroit Award and numerous grants. Her music appears on the Leonarda, Albany, and Videmus labels.


Return to the
Home Page

To order send e-mail to Vivace Press